Dream house, dream life, yeah right. Dream on…

Small things, big geek

Smiles are rarer  at present –  I got the electrician’s bill  today…, the only  person interested in a roomshare doesn’t want the room until March, the holidays are half over and I still  haven’t got anywhere with  my renovations. But I’m  sitting here grinning right now. My inner geek is ecstatic tonight.

In The Library I showed my cool colour changing lampshade. This lamp has become a regular part of my  night. When I get up  from the computer at night and turn off the desk lamp I then had to feel my way across the room in the dark to  the nearest light switch, which is for the study… then walk up  the dark hall to  turn on the light, then back down it to the bathroom, then back to turn off the study light, then… a lot of walking in circles. A few weeks ago I picked up some Kambrook remote controlled power switches to eliminate standby power drain (because every powerpoint in this place is virtually inaccessible once it is in use.) One of the remote switches in the hall, and a remote sitting on the desk and suddenly I can turn on the hall light before I leave the study and turn it off from the bedroom door before I go in. Then in the morning I just need to remember to drop the remote back in the study. I’ve also put a switch on all  the salon power eaters – fan, light, drill UVs etc, one click and they are all off. But the thing that is making me smile is today I moved a few things around and  discovered a spare lamp which I moved into the bedroom, with another switch. And I just discovered that I can turn it on through the wall from the desk in the study. The ultimate in geeky laziness. *Grin*

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Silver Birch Homestead Blog

Blog and history of Silver Birch Homestead

The Tortoise Whisperer

Tales of the Lost and the Loved

Carol Naylor

Contemporary textiles, making, exploring and communicating ideas

leaf and twig

where observation and imagination meet nature in poetry

Found This Painted That

Decorating Solutions for the Dollar Challenged

28gumtrees

Dream house, dream life, yeah right. Dream on...

FLOOD SAVVY

The Art of the Lift

littlecrazyhome

Just another WordPress.com site

Unlikely Explanations

This site contains humor, satire, comedy, and/or whimsy. Please don't take anything you read here seriously.

Crone and Bear It

The red-headed stepchild rocks mid-life

Worst 2 Best

Renovation and extention of a 1921 Californian Bungalow

There was movement at the station…

...the unblocking of a quilter

